36.8 C
Thursday, December 1, 2022

Soludo Inaugurates Anambra Joint Accounts Committee

The Governor of Anambra State, Chukwuma Soludo, has inaugurated the State-Local Government Joint Accounts Committee, disclosing that the state was heavily indebted to pensioners. 

Soludo disclosed that the state owed about N14 billion in back wages for pensions and gratuities that his government had begun to pay. 

Christian Aburime, Soludo’s press secretary, said that the inauguration of Anambra Joint Accounts Committee took place soon after the State Executive Council Meeting at the Government House in Awka. 

Tony Collins Nwabunwanne, the state’s commissioner for local government, serves as the committee’s chair. Ifeatu Onejeme, the state’s commissioner for finance, and Dr. Arinze Nwankwo-Ikwueto serve as the committee’s vice chairman and secretary, respectively.  

Soludo who thanked members of the Committee for accepting the appointment, said their job was not going to be an easy one as it came at a time when resources of the state were lean and there was no much to work with. 

“Resources are not there, you are being called upon to do this work at a time when there are challenges in the finances of the country, the state and local government and you have been called upon to find the solution,” he said. 

Soludo said his administration would set up the local government administration that would address the challenges in that layer of government. 

Also Read: Banks, Hotels And Others Sealed in Anambra Over Levies (See list)

He pointed out that the infrastructure in the various local government areas, including those burnt down by arsonists, needed to be repaired to enable council staff to go to offices and perform optimally. 

“For us, we have a vision to have responsibility devolved to base and to have local government that is empowered to deliver development to the grassroot. 

“Consequently, the finances that are very limited will have to be run in a different way; we have a peculiar local government system where the staff and other obligations of the local government are pulled together,” he said. 

Nwabunwanne, who spoke on behalf of the committee, described his team as competent and ready to deliver on their mandate and thanked the governor for finding them worthy. 

Other members of the committee include Mr. featu Obiokoye, representing Central Senatorial district, Dr. Nnamdi Nwadiogbu for North Senatorial district and Mr George Ezeogudi for South Senatorial district. 

Representatives of Transition Committee Chairman are Dr. Chibuike Ofobuike, South; Mrs. Amaka Obi, Central; and Mr. Livinus Onyenwe, North. 




NSF 2022: Soludo Tasks Anambra Contingents to Perform Well as Ambassadors

Gov. Chukwuma Soludo of Anambra has charged the state...

Kano Street Fire Incident: Soludo Calls For Immediate Emergency Training And Insurance For Traders

Professor Chukwuma Charles Soludo, the governor of Anambra State,...

Soludo Tasks Senate Committee on Patronizing Local Innovators As a National Policy

Anambra Governor, Prof Chukwuma Charles Soludo CFR has stated...

After Explosive Letter, Peter Obi Meets Soludo in Anambra (See Photos)

Anambra State Governor, Chukwuma Soludo CFR, and former governor...

APGA Alleges Plot to Implicate Soludo With $28m Bribe

The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) in Anambra state...
Join The Tribe 🥳

Join our ever-growing community of awoken ones and receive newsletters, offers & invitations.