Nigeria: Buhari Swears-in 6 INEC Commissioners


The six newly appointed national commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) were sworn in by President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday ahead of 2023 election. 

The President of the Senate, Dr. Ahmad Lawan, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, and INEC Chairman Mahmood Yakubu were all present at the brief event, which took place in the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa in Abuja. 

Mallam Mohammed Haruna of Niger State, Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu of Delta, Ukaegbu Kenneth Nnamdi of Abia State, Major General A. B Alkali (retd) of Adamawa State, Prof. Rhoda Gumus of Bayelsa State, and Mr. Sam Olemekun of Ondo State are the six INEC Commissioners who assumed office.  

President Buhari held his weekly virtual Federal Executive Council, or FEC, meeting immediately after the event. 

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, the Secretary to the Federal Government, SGF, Boss Mustapha, the President’s Chief of Staff, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, and the National Security Adviser, NSA, Major General Babagana Monguno were all physically present for the FEC (retd).  

Senator Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment), Festus Keyamo (Minister of State, Labour and Employment), Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu (Science and Technology Innovation), his state counterpart Mohammed, Rotimi Anaechi (Transportation), Alhaji Lai Mohammed (Information and Culture), Uchechukwu Ogar (State, Mines and Steel Development), Olamilekan Adegbite (Mines and Steel), Babatunde Fashol (Power) and (Minister of State Budget and National Planning). 

The Head of Service, Folashade Yemi-Esan, and other ministers were virtually present at the meeting from their different Abuja offices. 

The council is expected to discuss and vote on memos submitted by the various ministers in attendance.  

Previous articlePlateau doctors plan 14-day strike over rural posting allowance
Next articleASUU strike unlawful, demands handled- Ngige