36.4 C
Sunday, December 4, 2022

Putin makes list of hostile countries, promises decisive steps  

President Vladimir Putin has labeled nations and corporations who have imposed sanctions or backed out of ties with Russia as “unfriendly countries,” and has not ruled out taking tough measures against them. 

Putin stated in his state of the nation speech on Monday that corporations interested in doing business with Russia in the future must be certified by a government panel. 

In the aftermath of heavy economic sanctions over Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Putin also authorized a list of nations and territories committing “unfriendly acts” against Russia, its firms, and individuals. 

Iceland, Canada, Liechtenstein, Micronesia, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, South Korea, San Marino, North Macedonia, Singapore, the United States, Taiwan, Ukraine, Montenegro, Switzerland, and Japan are among the other countries represented.  

Debtors should create a specific type of rouble account with a Russian bank and transfer the rouble equivalent of the foreign currency amount owing, according to the central bank’s official exchange rate on the day of payment, according to the government. 

Payments of more over 10 million roubles ($76,000) per month are subject to this interim arrangement for settling international debts. 

The international world has reacted angrily to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, with the EU, the United Kingdom, and the United States, among others, putting a slew of economic penalties on Moscow.  



Soludo Tasks Senate Committee on Patronizing Local Innovators As a National Policy

Anambra Governor, Prof Chukwuma Charles Soludo CFR has stated...

Soludo’s Response to Social Media Backlash From Comments on Peter Obi Investment (See Full Statement)

The governor of Anambra State, Prof. Charles Soludo finally...

APC Claims That Tinubu Will Defeat Peter Obi in Presidential Race

Ahead of the 2023 poll, members of the progressives...

2023 : Nigerians in U.S. to hold presidential debate for Atiku, Peter Obi, Tinubu, Others

A debate for each presidential candidate running on February...

2023: Peter Obi Explains Why APC, PDP Should Be Kicked Out  

Peter Obi, the presidential candidate for the Labour Party...
Join The Tribe 🥳

Join our ever-growing community of awoken ones and receive newsletters, offers & invitations.