23.9 C
Saturday, September 23, 2023

5 African Countries Colonial Flag before their independence

Flags carry a huge significance because it serves as a way a country portrays itself to the rest of the world. They are also portraits of a country’s historical past. It is the reason why most countries spent year, including money before they came up with their flags.

In Africa, there are countries whose flags were imposed on them by the colonial masters during the colonial rule. Although all of the flags have been changed after independence. It is however important to note that these flags were not exactly “African” neither do they depict the true significance of what was truly African.

In this article, we would be highlighting some of these countries colonial flags and their present flag.

  1. The Colony of the Gold Coast 1867-1957 Flag (Ghana)

5 African Countries Colonial Flags before their independence
Gold Coast flag

The Gold Coast was a British colony on the Gulf of Guinea in West Africa from 1867 to its independence as the nation of Ghana in 1957. The flag was the country’s flag until the 1957 of the Ghana’s independence.

Ghana Flag

2. The Union of South Africa (South Africa)

Colonial flags
Union of South Africa Flag

The Union of South Africa is the historical predecessor to the present-day Republic of South Africa. It came into being on 31 May 1910 with the unification of the Cape Colony, the Natal Colony, the Transvaal, and the Orange River Colony. The colonial flag was used from 1910-1928.

South Africa Flag

3. Nigeria – Colonial Flag

Colonial flags
Old Nigeria Flag

The Flag of Nigeria between 1914 and 1960 was a British blue ensign with a green Star of David surrounding a Tudor Crown (later changed to a St Edward’s Crown in 1953) with the white word “Nigeria” under it on a red disc. It was also adopted by the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria. The flag was used from 1914-1960.

Nigeria Flag

4. The Colony and Protectorate of Kenya (Kenya)

Colonial flags
Old Kenya flag

The Colony and Protectorate of Kenya, commonly known as British Kenya, was part of the British Empire in Africa from 1920 until 1963. The colonial flag was also used between those period of 1920 to 1963 as well.

Kenya flag

5. Togoland (Togo) – Colonial flag

Colonial flags
Old Flag of Togoland

Togoland was a German Empire protectorate in West Africa from 1884 to 1914. It encompassed what is now the nation of Togo and most of what is now the Volta Region of Ghana. During the period known as the “Scramble for Africa“, the colony was established in 1884 and was gradually extended inland.

Togo flag

US to publish executive order on crypto next week



Mind-Blowing Anomalies in Ancient Africa

Africa, steeped in history, hides enigmatic ancient anomalies within...

Lost African Kingdoms: Forgotten Civilizations of the Sahara

The Sahara Desert, a vast expanse of arid landscapes,...

The Great Sphinx of Giza: Secrets and Mysteries Revealed

The Great Sphinx of Giza, an iconic monument with...

Festivals and Celebrations in Kenya: Cultural Extravaganzas

Kenya, known for its rich cultural tapestry, hosts a...

The 5 Dumbest Occasions In African History that Absolutely Changed History

Throughout African history, many moments were seen as foolish...